top of page

tussahsilk

Wild Raw Silk...


Pink-Striped Oakworm Moth (Anisota virginiensis pellucida)

When I returned to knitting after a hiatus of many, many years, I realised that I was only willing to spend time on the hobby if I was using beautiful luxurious yarns like silk, cashmere, alpaca and merino, and lovely smooth sharp needles. I was a beta tester for Ravelry when it started in 2007, and needed a user name: given my love of wild raw silk and all things luxurious, "TussahSilk" seemed appropriate, and it stuck.


Tussah Silk is a type of yarn produced by wild silk moths as opposed to the cultivated moths which typically feed on mulberry bushes used for smooth white silk. Tussah silk moths feed on a variety of vegetation producing several unexpected natural colours, including creams, stone, honey and browns. The characteristic honey colour is often produced when the moth feeds on oak leaves.


I initially started the TussahSilk blog in 2007 - tussahsilk.blogpost.co.uk - but found that since I don't have html coding skills, I couldn't make it look the way I wanted. I believe that Wix will solve those issues, so here I am again.


So, what will this blog be about? Knitting, books, travel, cookery, entertainment, photography, hair & beauty, who knows? All the above - whatever I feel like! This is a journey, and I'm not sure where it will take me. You're welcome to join me for the ride...


Image copyright: Clay Coleman - http://claycoleman.tripod.com/id278.htm.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page