top of page

tussahsilk

Fancy Schmancy Cameras...

Oooh me and cameras...

There's what I'd love to own - if I won the lottery ! Can anyone say "Red Dot"?

Leica M7 Hermes Edition 35MM

[source: Pinterest]

That, my friends, is a Leica M7 Hermes Edition 35MM. Approximate retail price? $14,000! So, sigh, there's that... And then's there's reality. In a battle between champagne taste and beer pocket, the pocket will always win. This is closely followed by the battle between posing like a 'prosumer' photographer, whilst lugging around a heavy DSLR, or ... just opting for practicality.

Many years ago, after some consideration, I landed on the Nikon side of the Nikon vs. Canon debate and opted for a D90 DSLR. In a tragicomedy of "Carry On" proportions whilst on holiday in South Africa, I had to replace the lens. I ended up with an AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3/5-5/6G IF-ED , which - whilst more flexible than the original lens - cost me almost as much as the original kit! I'll do a separate post on that. Here is my "Nik" in all his phallic glory.

These days mobiles have perfectly adequate cameras. And that's the rub isn't it? To get that candid once in a lifetime shot, you actually need to have your camera with you...

So, in addition to my Nikon, which I will take with me when I'm planning to take photographs - usually on request ... oooh, get me (!) - I also have a "Facebook ready" Canon PowerShot N. Except mine isn't so FB ready, as I've never figured out how to connect my Facebook account to it. Mine doesn't have this super pretty case and strap either. Hmmm, need to get on that...

PowerShot N Facebook ready Pink Jacket Bundle. Source: Canon Shop website

[source : https://shop.usa.canon.com/shop/en/catalog/powershot-n-facebook-ready-pink-jacket-bundle]

Most of the pictures on this blog will be taken with the Nikon or the Canon. What I like about the Canon is it is small, so I'm willing to have it in my handbag, and it takes great point and click shots. It isn't too shabby at videos either. Since I'm not particularly tall, I like that I can fold the back out and take a photo at a strange angle.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page